Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Flea treatment dilemma

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by McKenzie, Nov 29, 2012.

1. McKenzie

McKenzie PetForums VIP

I'm after some opinions :)

Up until about 6 months ago, I was using Advocate on McKenzie, however, she always HATED having it applied and would do everything to avoid it, and would then go a bit crazy when it was on her. I think she just reacted to it and it hurt her, so I stopped using it.

The vet suggested Comfortas tablets instead, and I've been using them for the past 6 months. However, I'm really not happy about basically giving her a tablet of insecticide, it just doesn't seem right.

I feel I need to use some commercial product as fleas are a huge problem here due to the humid climate, and we had a flea problem last year which I don't wish to repeat. I give her garlic too, but see this as a backup measure.

I'm wondering if I should try one of the other topical treatments like Advantage, but not sure if she'll have the same sort of reaction as to the Advocate.

Has anyone got any other good ideas?

2. Mum2Heidi

Mum2Heidi PetForums VIP

For me Advantage all the way!! We've got 2 cats as well as Heidi and (touch wood) havent had a problem since using it. RIP household spray is my main weapon. (not a suffocating smell and a fine spray that goes a long way.) Not tried Acclaim or Indorex.

I spray the house once a year and Advantage when I think necessary(3 times a year) which is a bit tongue in cheek but like you, I dont want to be overdoing it.

Before this regime, I had been treating the animals regularly and "just" holding my own in summer. Struggling with frontline becoming less effective. I didnt want to resort to something stronger.