Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Fishless cycle with fish food help

Discussion in 'Tropical Aquarium Advice' started by Franki_lou85, Oct 13, 2020.

1. Franki_lou85

Franki_lou85 PetForums Newbie

Hi I am currently cycling a tank with fish food, been about 5 days now and ammonia levels starting to increase, just wondering when to take out the old food please? Complete novice
    Many thanks

Magic Waves likes this.
  2. Magic Waves

Magic Waves PetForums Member

Hello @Franki_lou85 welcome to PF nice to have you with us :)

What size is your tank and filtering system and i always buy API fresh water master test kit, test strips aren't 100% accurate,

What's your level of ammonia now at the moment because the waste from the food needs to build up into good bacteria to kick the nitrite off, which then starts the nitrate.

I've got a tank cycling at the moment but i always do it with fish but with plenty of oxygen and regular water changes.

3. Franki_lou85

Hi it's a 64l with fluval u2 filter, we too are using api liquid testing kit as were told were more accurate its currently reading 0.5 ammonia so a way to go yet

Magic Waves likes this.
  4. Magic Waves

The fluval are good i've got a U4 in my 200 litre and good of you to be using the api, if your on amazon the sale is £17 on those ;)

Don't get any food waste out as your ammonia needs to rise slightly more, keep checking for nitrite.

5. Magic Waves

@Franki_lou85 i'm cycling a 20 litre at the moment for another betta mines been going for 5 days today ammonia 0.25, nitrite 0.25 and nitrate 3ppm

6. Franki_lou85

Thank you will leave it in, were cycling ours for our betta to move in to currently have a fish in cycle on the other tank as mis advised

Magic Waves likes this.
  7. Magic Waves