Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Fish tank water

Discussion in 'Fish Keeping Chat' started by Jason25, Apr 28, 2020.

1. Jason25

Jason25 PetForums VIP

I was given a tank by a neighbour a while back with 1 male guppy and 3 female guppies.

It came with a filter and some gravel.
    I’ve gave it a good clean and washed the filter and gravel off, not sure if I should of done that now but they have been fine for the last few weeks.

I’ve added 2 live plants, hygrophila polysperma and limnophila sessiliflora and an air pump with a air stone. And 15 Malaysian trumpet snails.

it all seems to be going well I’ve done a 20% water change each week since I’ve had them.

from what I’ve been reading I need to be testing my tank water and doing cycles or something? How do I do this? I’ve never done it before and always been under the impression that if your fish gets ill you take a water sample to a pet shop and they would test it for you?

I’m keen to learn so if you know any sites I can read from that would be great

Here’s my tank lol

D73AB677-C90C-4085-AE03-7E5BFB48DDDE.jpeg

2. LinznMilly

LinznMilly Moderator
    Staff Member

How big's the tank?

Cycling refers to the nitrogen cycle which you may have learned about in school, but fishkeepers need to know it in depth. So.

Fish produce ammonia via their gills and waste. Ammonia is toxic to fish and is responsible for the vast majority of illness and death.

This is where the filter comes in. It creates the perfect conditions in the media (sponge, rings, bio balls etc) for bacteria to thrive. The bacteria use the ammonia as food, and convert it into nitrite (NO2) (notice the I - it's important).

Nitrite is equally toxic to fish, but the filter comes to the rescue again, and grows another species of bacteria to take up the nitrite and convert it into nitrate (notice the A).