Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

Fish chosing

Discussion in 'Fish Keeping Chat' started by Daniel1331, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Daniel1331

Daniel1331 PetForums Newbie

Hi. My aunt just gave me her 200l fish tankwith some sand. I will boil the sand (to sterelize it) and clean the tank, Ive already ordered all the material. Im a beginner to fishkeeping, so I need some to chose the fish. I really dont like cyclhids and angels fish, but excluding those I like all of them. Please help me

2. NaomiM

NaomiM PetForums VIP

Hi Daniel,
    Good to see someone researching before buying :) And what a lovely sized tank for a first setup!
    Do you know if your water is hard or soft? (Your water company's website should give you an idea.) A good place to start is to look at fish that are best suited to your water type, as these are the ones most likely to thrive.
    Also, do you know about fishless cycling with ammonia? This is the best way to prevent fish deaths and other problems in a new setup. It takes a few weeks to complete but is totally worth the patience required, as it saves so much stress further down the line! This link explains more: https://www.tropicalfishforums.co.u...ml?PHPSESSID=b47d6fa84e982cda48b955dd5b610fd7

3. Daniel1331

Thank you about the info. The water is soft. And about the ph? I heard that is important. Can you give some species?

4. NaomiM

NaomiM PetForums VIP

Hi Daniel,

pH is less important than hardness, but as a general rule, fish that like soft water like low pH, and fish that like hard water like higher pH.

I assume you're aiming for a community tank with a good mixture of different species? It's good to have fish that occupy different levels of the tank, i.e. top, middle and bottom. Here's a few suggestions of some 'easy', peaceful fish for each level (though this is by no means an exhaustive list):