Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

fearful dog being handled with aversives

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by leashedForLife, Apr 28, 2011.

1. leashedForLife

YouTube - Fearful Dog learns to relax

watch the dog's body-language: does Calvin truly seem to become more relaxed?
    what body signals make U think as U do? [whether yes or no]

does he seem to be fearful of more than only humans he does not know, & dogs?
    what does his reaction to the environment look like?
    does he react to sounds, wind blowing, sudden movement?...

2. Pheonix*Ella

Pheonix*Ella PetForums Junior

I'm only a novice but there is noooo way I'd pull a dog like that. I'm taking Phe for some on the lead training soon and I think we'd be straight off if the trainer started with that business!

ehhhh I didn't like watching it...very scared wasn't it.

I thought he looked sad at the end!

3. Irish Setter Gal

Irish Setter Gal PetForums Senior

The dog failed to be asked out of the car in a relaxed calm disposition
    The trainer failed to give the dog an opportunity to 'relax and be' before moving onwards, it was dragged unwillingly.
    The dogs tail is a 'red flag' to a bull - if I saw a dog with a rigid tail like that coming at me I'd walk the other way.

(watched with no sound so can't comment on the sound elements)

4. leashedForLife

novice or no, U said just what i would - if someone tried to drag my dog about in that fashion, i'd have the leash back
    instantly and they'd get my poor opinion of their handling, verbally, in exchange. :p
    i found it quite depressing to watch, & yes, the dog looks depressed, too. :(
    it's a shame, there are ways to help scared dogs to develop some confidence, but dragging them round
    like a kiddie pull-toy is not one that seems destined for success. :confused:

5. leashedForLife

yes to all 3. :( poor fella.