UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are looking at getting some fish for all of us, but i want something thats pretty easy to keep.

we have tanks that that pumps and filters...they are around 2 foot by 1 foot.

dont mind cold water or tropical

·
Registered
7,036 Posts
A lot depends on your water parameters - hard/soft high or low PH - as to what will be easy for you to be honest. In a small tank will look better to have a bigger number of just one type rather than a random selection. I find tetras easy to keep

·
Love my furry, feathered and finned family
2,882 Posts
That sounds about the same size tank as I have - mine holds 70 litres. I'm a beginner too and am going for platys and guppies as they're easy to keep in high pH, hard water, which I have. (Getting my fishies tomorrow - yay!!!) :D

Do you know about fishless cycling?

·
Registered
134 Posts
guppies and molly's are very easy to keep, but when getting community fish make sure you get a bit of a mixture, I got my first tank, full set up including the fish, the fish that were in it were molly's and guppies but they are both top/middle feeders so absolutely nothing was going on at the bottom of the tank as thy all hung around the top.

I now have a north American cichlid tank, and the only reason I would say it was harder than community was you need to research your fish before you buy as some will kill others

Don't listen to pet shops unless you can really trust them, most of them in my area will sell you anything for a bit of profit or if its in there best interest.

·
Love my furry, feathered and finned family
2,882 Posts
Don't listen to pet shops unless you can really trust them, most of them in my area will sell you anything for a bit of profit or if its in there best interest.