Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Early morning scratching

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by Willowkins144, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Willowkins144

Willowkins144 PetForums Newbie

Hi all, Im new to this and need advice!
    I got my cat Willow from cats protection back in July, she is a 1 year 8 month old female tabby. She has settled in well, but has an extremely annoying habit.
    She will scratch the radiator by mine and my partners bed, it is very gentle scatching(not like when she scratches her scratching post) but will always wake us (this is usually around 5am!)I have a bottle with stones in, so will shake this to move her away. She responds to this, but then moves into the hall and begins scratching the bathroom door, we try to ignore her, but she can become very loud. She isn't doing any damage, but its almost like she is hitting the door over and over again. If we manage to ignore her for long enough she then starts to mew, which is a very odd noise, almost ike a call? I dont like having to get up and move her away, as feel this is giving in to her attention seeking? She is generally a very affectionate cat, and loves being around people, she follows us everywhere!
    Just wondered if anyone had had any similar experiences, or has any advice?
    It would be very much appeciated, as we miss our weekend lie-ins! :)
    Thankyou! Sarah.

2. The Minkey

The Minkey PetForums Member

She clearly thinks it's time you were up ;-) My old boy used to rustle any plastic bags he found in the bedroom. I observed him through slitted eyes once and he was just sitting there with paw extended doing a rustle, looking back over his shoulder to see if there was any movement from the bed.

Do you have an old blanket or towel you can drape over the radiator? That might do the trick to stop her scritching at it.

3. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP