Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Double Merle Border Collie Puppy, advice please!!!

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by Magic_1983, Jul 6, 2017.

1. Magic_1983

Magic_1983 PetForums Newbie

Hello to everyone im a newbie
    Ok so I have a question for anyone regarding border collies and specifically blue merles.
    If a male blue merle border collie (possibly double merle) mates with a solid black and white female would this produce puppies with the double merle gene?
    The litter is all blue merles so not one is B+W so just curious as to whether this potentially means the puppies have inherited the double merle? I'm struggling to find any answers on Google on that obviously mating 2 merles is not best, but can't find what if a double merle mates with a non merle or even what if the B+W female has the merle gene but is masked?
    I don't know how to approach the subject with the seller of the puppies? Any advice/tips on what to look for would be very much appreciated!
    Thanks

2. SingingWhippet

SingingWhippet PetForums VIP

A puppy must inherit a merle gene from each parent to be merle so unless the female is some kind of atypical/cryptic/phantom merle then it's impossible for a merle to non-merle mating to produce double merle puppies.

It's perfectly possible for a litter of puppies from one merle parent and one non-merle parent to be born merle as they each have a 50% chance of inheriting the single merle gene they need to express it. If one parent is double merle and the other non merle then all the puppies will be merle as they will inherit one of the merle genes rom the double merle parent.

This page and this page explain how the genetics of merle work very well.

MiffyMoo likes this.
  3. Magic_1983

Thank-you so much for responding I thought that I had posted this in the wrong place or that no-one could see the post!