Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Dog snapping ...and pregnant!

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Clara-bela, Aug 5, 2009.

1. Clara-bela

Clara-bela PetForums Newbie

Hi guys,
    I'm new to Pet Forums and in desperate need of advice!

I have a 4 yr old rescue staffy (Jess)who i adore!We have had her for 2 years. She doesnt get on with all dogs but that is something we have learned to accept but with people she has always been excellent and very loving and soppy!

Yesterday my friend brought round her 2 yr old and 5 yr old children. I didnt let Jess too close to them as she is not used to being around unknown children and you cant be too careful. She seemed fine, a bit puzzled when these children came storming inot her home but ok!

Jess was relaxed and lying by my feet while i was sitting on the sofa chatting. The little 2 yr old came over and fell backwards onto the dog! Jess reacted with a snap but didnt touch or hurt the child. I was so shocked and embarrassed!I think Jess just felt a little threatened and shocked. I didnt tell her off as i kind of felt a bit sorry for the poor dog!

I'm currently pregnant and due in October so a little concerned about Jess and the new baby and other children we will have round the house!She really is the most affectionate dog in the world, i adore her and could never give her away!

Claire :(

2. PoisonGirl

PoisonGirl Banned

It sounds like she got a fright. If she is not used to being round unknown children she may have been feeling uncomfortable so when the child fell on her she got scared.

You do not have to get rid of her but you do need her to see children as a positive thing.

Also I would have her meet children from behind a safety gate and let her observe them for a while then let her meet them on a lead andhave the child give her a treat (provided she can take them gently).