Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Dog not interested with a bitch in season

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by jobate, Jun 26, 2010.

1. jobate

jobate PetForums Junior

Hi, I am new to the breeding part of this site and I have a question.

I have a 1 year old male beagle who I am wanting to use as a stud and a friend who has a 15 month female beagle. The plan has always been to breed when the time is right and although they are too young at the moment we were thinking of next summer to start the breeding when they are both 2. Well the bitch came in to her 2nd season yesterday and we decided under our watchfull eye to see what reaction we would get when the 2 are together. Well he certainly had a good old sniff then....absolutely nothing. No urges what so ever! Now my beagle comes into contact with another male dog who has been castrated and he will not leave him alone.....constantly trying to hump his leg all the time. So can anyone tell me why he has a thing for this male dog and not interested in the bitch in season.

Thanks

2. PurpleCrow

PurpleCrow PetForums VIP

I think you may have a gay dog! :lol::lol::lol:

Sorry... Just made me laugh.

Anyway, I know nothing about breading so I'm going to leave this to the guys who do :)

1 person likes this.
  3. mel

mel PetForums Member

you say she only came into season yesterday ? if so then he wont really be interested apart frm a quick sniff it usually only wen they are ready to mate commonly days 11-15 that she will have a scent that he will be interested in mating..i wudnt worry just yet x

4. Way too early, the dog will not be interested until the bitch is ready, she will stand then, you will know, another member has said day 11-15 - this I believe is the normal! but saying that my girl is not ready until around day 17

5. kirksandallchins

kirksandallchins PetForums VIP