Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Dog having nose bleeds, any similar experiences?

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by Acorn and auger, Jun 10, 2018.

1. Acorn and auger

Acorn and auger PetForums Newbie

I’m new to this thread and I’m not looking for medical advice as we are seeing our vet for weekly appointments to try various antibiotics etc. However I would appreciate hearing if anyone else has had a similar experience with their dog!

Approx. a month ago my dog Teddy started having coughing ‘fits’ (not a seizure, but like a cough that he couldn’t clear and it would end with a big sneeze that resulted in nose bleeds). He’s 12yo and has always been healthy up until this point. We booked an appointment first thing for the following Monday as the nose bleeds were worrying.

The vet considered lungworm or a blood clotting issue but both were ruled out after having blood work tested. Then he discovered that Ted’s upper back teeth were seriously decayed (we felt awful)! He scheduled Ted in for a tooth extraction and put him on antibiotics for the infection.

Ted has had blood tests and urine samples all come back clear from blood, heart, lung, liver problems so all good. He had his teeth removed two weeks ago and had an x-ray of chest and head and nasal swab taken whilst under.