Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Dog has nipped a child

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Annmarievictoria, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Annmarievictoria

Annmarievictoria PetForums Newbie

Hi all,
    I'm very new to this so please excuse me if its a bit waffles.

I have a cocker spaniel, male, around 3 years old. I got him 4 months ago from rehoming kennels, he had been in working kennels before that and I have little knowledge about his previous life.
    He's very active, very excited by new people but has been a lovely dog so far.

This weekend he was visiting my 5 year old cousin and family. The little boy was pestering him, loving him, and my dog was excited but was settling down. He then growled jumped up at my cousin (he was standing right in front of my dog looking down at him) and nipped his lip, drawing blood. This has upset me greatly and I feel completely at fault. He's never done this before, an I don't really know how best to deal with it. Obviously I'll be avoiding contact with children and am considering muzzling him when out just in case. Iv never taken him to official training as he already knew basic commands when he came to live with us an didn't appear to have real behaviour issues.
    Sorry for the big rant, any advice would be greatly received.
    Thankyou, Ann-Marie and mike the dog

2. blossom21

blossom21 PetForums Senior

Oh dear how horrid for you,but I think poor dog was saying Im settling down,back off, Ive had enough. If he's never reacted like this before I can't see it merits a muzzle. But there are others on here with more experience than me no doubt. I have a sprocker spaniel adopted 6 months ago aged 3 and he's super around my granddaughters,but they know when I say the dog has had enough and to leave him alone. :nonod:

3. smokeybear

smokeybear PetForums VIP