Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

dog fights !!!

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by shelly50, Apr 21, 2011.

1. shelly50

shelly50 PetForums Newbie

please please help i am new to this and need advice. we have 2 bitches one labie who is 6 and one labie x rottie who is 9 they have lived together for over3 years but recently have started to have fights daily usually triggered over nothing but it is now getting to the stage where our youngest dog is getting a few war wounds and it getting quiet distressing, we dont want to sepearte them cause apart from the fighting they do everything else together and howl when they are parted from each other, one of the bitches has been spayed !!!

2. NoSpecialFeaturesHere

NoSpecialFeaturesHere PetForums Senior

When did the fighting start? Has the one who isn't spayed recently been in heat? Is there an entire male in your area? Is it the same girl instigating the aggression or does it differ from fight to fight? Have they had vet checks recently? Have they been getting less walks lately than normal for any reason?

3. Old Shep

Old Shep PetForums VIP

Untill you can get some good professional advice (there are threads on this site dealing with choosing a good behaviourist/trainer) I would be inclined to separate them when they are unsupervised. Howling may be a nuisance, but a seriously injured dog is a lot worse!

4. Sled dog hotel

Sled dog hotel PetForums VIP