Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

dog daycare/boarding/walking

Discussion in 'Dog Boarding' started by Noonshappydoghouse, Dec 7, 2017.

1. Noonshappydoghouse

Noonshappydoghouse PetForums Newbie

Hello, I'm a newbie here and I was hoping to get some advice from anyone willing to give it please?? . . . .

I am very keen to start my own doggy daycare/boarding and walking business.
    I have completed a few online courses and have been awarded certificates in dog walking and basic dog care I also attended a classroom-based pet first aid course all of which were incredibly insightful.
    I have previously started my own business but it did not take off as I hoped t would and I made some silly mistakes which cost me my first customer and really knocked my confidence so I closed my business and took some more time to gain more knowledge and to learn from the mistakes I made.
    I currently am an employed part-time dog walker which includes some doggy daycare and I am learning some valuable lessons in how to structure my business which is great. I am considering attending a course to be able to teach others pet first aid in February to earn a little money while I build my business up only I'm sure how big the demand is for this service. I will be attending an intensive course on dog training and will be working on being amazing at that . . . . I'm already pretty good ;)

my concerns are that I have two children 1 is 10 and the youngest is 4, will be 5 in March which is when I hope to open my business. does anyone else running a boarding business have young children and will it have a detrimental effect on obtaining a license?