UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm a newbie. This forum was reccomended by someone at work. They claim your a fabulous bunch and full of great advice. I have a two yr old CKCS called Frank who is being spayed tomorrow. I'm dreading it.

I'm dropping her off at 9:30 tomorrow morning, then I'm going to be sat near the phone all day waiting for the call saying I can collect her.

I'm about to start searching for any stray bonios or pigs ears that have been stashed away as the vet has instructed me to starve her overnight like a gremlin. I'm also going to take the divan bottom off the bed and have the mattress straight on the floor. She sleeps on the bed with me and Hubby, and I assume she's not going to be able to jump on and off for a short while.

I'm just curious what to expect tomorrow evening. I assume the vet will tell me tomorrow, but I do like to be prepared. Will she want to eat or go to the toilet? How long will she be miserable for? She is not the most lively of dogs, so I'm not too worried about having to keep her quiet as she is a couch potato at heart. How long do the stitches stay in for? Do I need to clean the wound or just leave it be and ensure it stays clean?

I would be very greatful for your experiences of bitch spays or and tips for aftercare.
Thanks, Sidney.

·
Registered
661 Posts
You'll be fine! Our Scrabble was spayed about a month ago.

- On collection, she emerged wearing the cone of shame. At home, this resulted in her standing rooted to the same spot for hours utterly perplexed. We removed it and used a t-shirt. If you have something like a babygro, that could be good. But this will be your own judgement.