Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

dog allergies??

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by losnadis23, Nov 1, 2012.

1. losnadis23

losnadis23 PetForums Newbie

I am new to this but i am worried i have 3 dogs and my youngest one. Bella has started itching alot, mostly her face and been eating her paws/lower legs with some hair loss. I think she must be allergic to something. Going to vet tomorrow afternoon so this will help. Do you think it could be food? Whats the best dog food out there thinking off puting her on skinners food. Thank you.

2. bluegirl

bluegirl PetForums Senior

A dog could be allergic to food, for some it is wheat intolerance and for others its a particular meat ie chicken (but whilst chicken is the biggest culprit in the meat category it equally could be other ones).

A lot of dogs who have allergies end up on chappie which seems to help, its not the best food on the market but clearly very beneficial to those dogs with allergies.

3. losnadis23

Thank you. Do you know if the vet will do test and what they do?

4. Modwyn

Modwyn Guest

They may test for mites as what your dog is doing could be a sign of that as well. I would wait to see what your vet says and go from there.

5. fluffybunny2001

fluffybunny2001 PetForums VIP

a regular vet will test for mites,but for allergies you will need to be referred to a dermatologist.

6. Sled dog hotel

Sled dog hotel PetForums VIP

It could be an allergy to something food or environmental, but mites can also be intensely itchy, often start on the face and legs, especially elbows and anywhere the hair is thinnest. So thats a possibility too, it also causes hair loss and you often get secondary bacterial infection from the scratching and truamatising of the skin.