Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Do you seriously spoil your dog?

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by laras, Oct 22, 2012.

1. laras

laras PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone,

I hope nobody minds me posting here! My name is Lara and I'm a studying journalist at Southampton Solent University. At the moment, I'm writing a feature to put in my assessment portfolio on owners who spoil their dogs/treat them like children.

I was just wondering if there were any owners on here who spend a lot of money on clothes, pamper days, parties etc for their dogs. If so, would you be willing to talk to me?

Thank you!
    Lara

2. Nataliee

Nataliee PetForums VIP

Depends what you view as "spoiling" my dogs would argue that being dressed up & pamper days would be hell, now a huge field to run around with each other & nice food, lots of fuss is more their idea of being spoilt

3. WeedySeaDragon

WeedySeaDragon PetForums VIP

Well, we spend lots on coats and jumpers but that's because we have the wimpiest whippet known to man who needs enough garments to layer up suitably in winter. We'd never get him out of the house as soon as it starts dropping cold otherwise :rolleyes:

4. SixStar

SixStar Banned

If I tried to inflict ''pamper days'', dressing up, make up, parties etc on my dogs they'd wonder what on earth they'd done to deserve such things, they'd hate every second of it :( My dogs are spoilt in a more species appropriate way - they get good food, decent walks, are allowed to romp around in the mud, and get plenty of love and fuss.

My dogs aren't treated like kids. I love my dogs, but no where near as much as I love my children... although that said, my kids were never treated to very expensive clothes or ''pamper days'' either!!!

5. Nataliee

Nataliee PetForums VIP