Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

DIY catproof fencing advice

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by H.M, Jun 10, 2021.

1. H.M

H.M PetForums Member

Hi all,

I'm looking into doing my own catproof fencing but I would to make sure that I will be doing it correctly. I saw that someone used these restraint straps https://www.screwfix.com/p/heavy-duty-restraint-straps-1200-x-150mm-pack-of-10/74769 that they bend themselves into shape without any special equipment so I hope a hammer is enough?

for the netting I have absolutely no clue what I'm supposed to buy or which one is good. I have looked at the catproofing thread but when I press the link it no longer available or there is an error. Is one of these from B&Q any good? https://www.diy.com/departments/out...garden_fencing_garden-mesh-netting_DIY1097553

I'm not that good at DIY but I'm definitely better than my dad and my brothers. But I have one brick wall that I would need to drill a hole into, which I hope will not be too difficult!!!? In the brick wall would I need to put in those plugs before putting a screw in?

I really hope and can get this done quickly and poor Danbi really want to go to the garden. He's sometimes waits behind the door asking to go out:( but a few weeks ago he figured he can jump on the water tank then over the fence. suddenly he's a very good jumper. Oreo will be so confused though why he can no longer jump out the garden lol.

2. OrientalSlave

OrientalSlave Shunra Oriental Cats

You need a decent drill. & bit to secure to a brick wall, and an electric staple gun is very useful for securing netting to wood

H.M likes this.
  3. buffie

buffie Mentored by Meeko

I think you will need a hammer drill to put anything into brick / concrete etc and you are correct you will need Rawl Plugs for the screws .
    Sorry cant help with the netting .

H.M and OrientalSlave like this.