Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Disturbing time at stables

Discussion in 'Horse Riding and Training' started by Nicky10, Jan 31, 2010.

1. Nicky10

Nicky10 PetForums VIP

They put me on a horse that was pretty difficult, yes I've been riding for about 8 years now, but I haven't been on a horse for over a year. The horse went to bite me and the stable owner just casually said oh punch him in the face he won't do it again. Needless to say I won't be going back there

2. Zayna

Zayna PetForums VIP

ooh thats a bit harsh! i used to smack rosie on the lip if she bit me and she didnt do it again after that! punching a horse in the face is a bit full on though! where was the stables?

3. Nicky10

Nicky10 PetForums VIP

Yeah a light smack if they bite but not a full on punch in the face. It was over here more a private stable to let me get used to it again. I'm going to find another stable.

4. Zayna

Zayna PetForums VIP

thats just downright cruel.. good luck with finding another yard!

5. Nicky10

Nicky10 PetForums VIP

Hopefully I can I want to ride again properly but I don't have the time to buy a horse and look after it properly.

6. Miss.PuddyCat

Miss.PuddyCat PetForums VIP

I used to ride as a kid on a pony named Buster Loved him.

I was around 9ish I think. One day they sent me out to get him from the field. He was in there with one other mare and an old retired police horse.

I got him on the lead and was walking back when the mare came running up behind us. She bite me full on on the shoulder and because of that I reflexed and my hand came back and gave her a big wallop on the head.

She left after that but I felt bad :(

7. Nicky10

Nicky10 PetForums VIP

But that wasn't intentional to "train" her

8. Miss.PuddyCat

Miss.PuddyCat PetForums VIP

Yeh it wasnt thank fully I never had to ride her.

The police horse on the other hand needed training lol