Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Diet for four year old Newfoundland

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by purpleisa, Nov 4, 2012.

1. purpleisa

purpleisa PetForums Junior

Hello all,

Newbie here to forums and Newfoundlands!! :D

Just looking for some advice from experienced Newf owners re: diet. We have just brought home a four year old Newf bitch (not spayed) and have been sticking so far to the diet she had from her previous owners. Which doesn't seem right but I didn't want to make any changes until she was settled.

Boo weighs 43.9kgs (below average for a Newfie but is v small Newf (only 24" ish to the shoulder - sorry she wasn't that co-operative with the measuring lol). The vet seems to think she is a little overweight (no waist and "can't feel her ribs" - which I can :confused:)

Anyway her "old" diet was described to me as:-

two feeds per day mid morning then about 7pm. Morning about half a lg (1200g) of Butchers tripe mix mixed in with 3/4 lg bowl of Butchers complete. (However it was Bakers complete they handed over with her :confused:) then in the evening about 250g of cooked chicken again with 3/4 lg bowl of Complete. (Maybe I'm being stupid here but I thought if you were feeding meat along with dry you would use kibble / mixer not complete food:blink: