Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Diabetic cat / CBD

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by Angela133, Aug 26, 2019.

1. Angela133

Angela133 PetForums Newbie

hi all, I’m new to petforums so sorry if this has already been posted.

I have a male diabetic cat who is about 17 years old. He was diagnosed with diabetes about a year ago and it has never been well controlled, the vets are now querying whether he may have a tumour somewhere that is contributing to insulin resistance. He recently seems to be in lots of pain - growling when you touch him/try to pick him up (he is usually extremely friendly), shaking (on blood sugar testing at these times his levels are normal) and not eating/retreating to closed off and dark areas of the house.

My questions are - how can I help to relieve his pain? We have given him some vetergesic intermittently but this makes him very wobbly/grouchy/sleepy and then he doesn’t eat which affects his sugar levels. I have read about CBD oil for cats as a anti-inflammatory and or analgesic, but I understand there is little research about it. Does anyone have any anecdotal evidence to suggest the CBD oil may help my little man?

2. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP

Hello @Angela133 and welcome :)

I am sorry to hear about your poorly cat, he sounds miserable bless him.

Personally I wouldn't give CBD oil to a cat. The medicinal stuff is very expensive and can only be obtained at present from a private consultant (for humans). The cost of the good quality stuff is about £800 per month (for a human).

I wouldn't trust any of the cheaper unregulated stuff. Research has shown there may not even be any of the correct ingredients in some of the unregulated stuff. The market is rife with scams.

On the other hand unregulated stuff may be much stronger than stated and could make your cat very ill, or be fatal to him.