UK Pet Forums Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm switching my dog over to DAF minces and was wondering if the kittens could also have them? They currently love the Natural Instinct range (well apart from the Game Bird one!)

Obviously it is easy to give them a little bit of the dogs dinner to see if they will eat it but just wanted to make sure the quality etc. would be ok for them...

I want what ever is best for them so happy to continue with NI (and I work right next to their store so easy to get hold of...) but DAF is so much cheaper!

·
Registered
299 Posts
I am not an expert at all, but to my knowledge, cats shouldn't eat food meant for dogs, as they often contain ingredients that the cats aren't able to digest properly such as vegetables and grains.

Also, hobbs2004, who dedicated a lot of their time and research on the best cat food around did mention recently that they would not touch DAF minces with a bargepole. Presumably it's because they don't even have a cat food range. It seems Natural Instinct raw CAT food should be good for them though!

·
Registered
14,680 Posts
There have been various issues noted with the DAF minces....most notably that cats wont touch them as they smell so 'high'
I would be interested if anyone replies to this thread who has used them with success for their cats, even if only as an occasional meal.

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I've got some coming for the dog and it is just 100% meat so no worries about grain or veg etc. I will try them on a little bit of the dog's dinner and see what happens... I suspect the fussy one will turn her nose up at it and the greedy one will still eat it all!! I wondered if it was down to quality (all though I feel bad now moving the dog over to a lower quality food!!)....

·
Banned
1,595 Posts