Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Costs of starting up home grooming salon? - New to the site!!!

Discussion in 'Dog Grooming' started by millsmutts, Feb 11, 2012.

1. millsmutts

millsmutts PetForums Newbie

Hiya ,

My name is Hannah , I am new to this site , so I hope to get as much use out of it as possible and hopefully pass on my knowledge of dogs too =)

I am currently studying Level 2 Dog Grooming at college and I would love to go onto do level 3 and then open my own grooming salon.

I was just wondering how much it would cost roughly?

I don't need to know about the price of the equipment as I have that already sorted. It's just things like insurance , taxes, etc ?

I am 17 now but I hope to have my business up and running by the time I am 20 =)

I would love to run my own Kennels&Cattery and Grooming salon!

Any advice on the costs?

I know it isn't as simple as opening up a salon and off i go - I am not stupid lol =P

Thanks again!

2. Manoy Moneelil

Manoy Moneelil PetForums VIP

Unless you have a lot of financial backing in real life you will be looking at either working for someone else or working as a mobile basis.

Being young it is hard to believe the hassle that is awaiting to hammer down your enthusiasm with costs and restrictions when all you want to do is focus on the dogs.

There will be many things to learn about business and the best way to gain this is from someone that is doing it. With that in mind you would be wise to gain experience from a local firm or even rescue kennels by exchanging your skills and picking their brains for business skills, don't discount a Saturday job in retail whether it's Pets @ Home or a DIY shop - this teaches money.

Like any business you really need to look at what the demand is in the area you are seeking to work in, and where exactly you think a shop would be. Think about that in detail.