Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Correct Stud Age

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by kohanah94, Jul 9, 2017.

1. kohanah94

kohanah94 PetForums Newbie

Hi, I am new to dog breeding but have a lovely miniature dachshund that I want to stud. He is KC registered and has had all the necessary health tests done for the breed. My question is what is the suitable age for breeding. He is 15 months now and some people have told me that he has to be 18 months and others have told me that as long as he is 12 months and has reached sexual maturity he can breed. As we are both new to the dog breeding world it is far to say that we are confused so any advice or information would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Alex
    (A new and confused breeder)

2. miljar

miljar Banned

Hi Alex.
    Your boy is certainly old enough. A youngster could be a bit tricky to start with, but it is an experience thing, and he will learn by doing. In an ideal world he would go with an experienced bitch first time out, but they do know what to do.

3. SingingWhippet

SingingWhippet PetForums VIP

If he's only 15 months then surely he can't have been screened for IVDD as he'd need to be 2 years old to participate in the scheme. I would definitely wait until he's old enough for that before going ahead and using him at stud.

Are you showing him? And do you have an experienced breeder/stud dog owner mentoring you?

4. kohanah94

I thought that Miniature Dachshunds only had to be screened for PRA? Haven't heard anything about screening them for IVDD.