UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would you cope with your dog/s if you became ill long term? :confused:

I have five dogs, I did have six but I sadly had to have one pts last August. I have had as many as seven! But, I am lucky enough to be able to stay at home to take care of them all plus before I got ill 2 years ago, I was a canine behaviour consultant, choosing my own hours, having run my own training classes some years prior to that. I also had a job I could work around my dogs until I became ill - I have Lyme Disease from a tick bite. This has left me with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome symptoms as well as the Lyme Disease symptoms (I was diagnosed with CFS at first) so my energy level is poor and my mobility is partially restricted especially as I have osteo arthritis of one of my hips too). I am now on long term treatment through a private doctor as the NHS seems to be too wrapped up in politics over it to come up with its own real treatment (a couple of weeks antibiotics does not cure established Lyme Disease NHS!) and I do hope to see real improvement one day, maybe in months to come or maybe in a few years - one man took 9 years to be cured in America! :eek:

When I started to become ill, I had just bought Merlin, the working bred collie in my signature. My other dogs are all aging (8, 9, 9 & 13) so Merlin is the youngest by far. I managed to be able to do most of his basic training and took him to classes until the illness really took hold and since then I have trained him once or twice a week either in the house, garden or maybe on a park if I am up to it. My husband takes him out for his big walks. Because of my very supportive OH my dogs have all continued to get good exercise - I really would be stuck without him.