Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Complete newb, need some advice

Discussion in 'New Aquarium Advice' started by Argent, Nov 12, 2012.

1. Argent

Argent PetForums VIP

Hi y'all! I've just been given the go-ahead by my landlord; I can have fish!!!

So I'm hoping to start a bit of a project. I've never had anything beyond goldfish in a bowl before (poor things :( ) but I know better now. I've been reading and reading and a lot of aquarium-talk is slightly confusing to me as I'm not familiar with all the abbreviations and shortened names for things, but I'm trying.

Anyway, I'm on the lookout for a cheap/free 5-10 gallon tank that's longer than it is tall. My aim is to have a male betta in a community tank with a group of corydora Pandas, maybe some minnows and a few ghost shrimp.

Ideally, I'd love to have live plants/moss balls in there too, any advice at all is most appreciated.

From what I understand, both bettas and corys like fine uniform texture sand as substrate, and I'll probably need a heater and filter as well.
    I plan on hatching brine shrimp for them to eat alongside a more commercial diet, maybe try new things the more I get the hang of it.

So yeah...feel free to tell me I'm completely mad! Or to help me out in one way or another. I understand it's not going to happen instantly, I'll be most likely adding little bits at a time and letting things settle over the course of a few months or even just as an ongoing thing.

Any help, in as plain english as possible is very much appreciated!
    And if anyone has an appropriately sized spare tank gathering dust in the Merseyside area, please let me know!

2. Fishyfins

Fishyfins PetForums Member

Hey there :)

I was pointed in this direction to give you some assistance ^^

Long post warning!