Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Clicker training!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by maizie0_0, May 16, 2010.

1. maizie0_0

maizie0_0 PetForums Member

I was planning on clicker training my springer spaniel puppy. If I do this, do I have to ensure I do it every time or can I only use it sometimes and just commands other times?

2. babycham2002

babycham2002 PetForums VIP

You still use commands all the time, the clicker is the marker to say she got it right.
    ATM i just use good girl as the marker. Mainly because I do think you would have to use it(the clicker) all the time and I am not good with remembering to have it on me always.

I do own a clicker though and plan to use it for more advanced shaping things later on. :)

3. katiefranke

katiefranke PetForums VIP

hi maisie0_0, with clicker training, you still use commands/cues too - as babycham says, the clicker is effectively the 'marker' to pinpoint the precise second that the pup has got the required action/behaviour correct (thats why some people use a marker 'word' such as 'yes' or 'good' or 'bingo', although this is not as easy to get so accurate).

You initially teach each new thing by 'luring' with a treat into position, then click/treat (C/T) as soon as pup gets it. Or you can do this by 'shaping' little by little with the clicker (slightly more advanced and takes a little bit of practice) or 'capturing' the action when the pup does it of their own accord (such as sitting when you bring their food bowl and you take advantage by clicking the action and rewarding by giving pup the food).

Then you would normally introduce the cue word once the pup understands the behaviour and can perform it properly (so you only give a word to the finished action).