Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Cleaning limescale... help!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Purplecatlover, Dec 9, 2020.

1. Purplecatlover

Purplecatlover PetForums VIP

Hi, my kitchen sink tap had really bad limescale and eventually broke (if I turned them on it would spurt water)

my landlord has put a new tap on but the limescale is still bad around where the tap is.

I’m not good with cleaning and just wondered if anyone could help with what I need to use

Thankyou cxxx

2. ForestWomble

ForestWomble PetForums VIP

Hello, I found this from https://www.plumbworld.co.uk/blog/how-to-remove-limescale

When it comes to cleaning taps to remove limescale, vinegar or lemon work best outside of a chemical cleaner.

Removing limescale from taps comes in two parts - the levers and body as well as the water outlet. These are the areas most likely to see limescale form. For each one, they need to be in constant contact with a cleaner.

To remove limescale from the water outlet or spout, fill a cap with lemon juice or vinegar and position it over the spout. Ensure the outlet is submerged in it completely and fix the cap in place with either tape or an elastic band - then leave it overnight.

For the upper parts of your tap, soak cotton wool or a cloth in either white vinegar or lemon juice and wrap it around the taps. If you want to be sure, secure it in place with an elastic band. Leave it for a couple of hours or overnight, depending on the amount of limescale.

You may need to lightly scrub the taps afterwards to remove all the residue.

When using vinegar or lemon juice, bear in mind the type of tap you have. For plated taps - such as chrome or gold - don’t use vinegar as it can damage the finish.