Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Cattery advice needed

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Kat74Em, Apr 11, 2011.

1. Kat74Em

Kat74Em PetForums Member

After our plan A fell through, it looks like we'll have to put Harry in a cattery when we go on holiday in June.

I've never used a cattery before so I don't really know what to look out for in order to tell a good one from a bad one. There are a few near us but only 2 have a website with photos. Of those two, only one looked nice, so I went to check it out at the weekend.

Although it was very clean and as modern as the photos suggested and the owner seemed lovely, I was quite taken aback at how little room the cats have :( I don't really know what I expected, maybe a little outside run or something, but is this the norm? Each cat had a sleeping area and an area with food, water, litter tray, toys & a cat tree. Both areas just seemed so small. Are all catteries like this?

2. Doolally

Doolally PetForums Senior

I know what you mean....they all sound nice but the ones I've seen seem like i'd be putting my cats in a shed for a week :(.
    I think i've looked at all the websites for catteries in herts, and very few seem willing to put up pictures of their pens..if I need to use one I haven't got time to check them all out so will not even bother with those who can't be bothered to put up photos
    Where is herts are you? Harpenden cat hotel looks nice. Google cat hotels and they seem nicer (bigger) than catteries.
    I'm hoping to get a cat sitter, but if I can't then i'm going to check out here as quite a lot of people I know use it http://allseasonsboardingcattery.co.uk/

#2 Doolally, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011
  3. Kat74Em

Kat74Em PetForums Member