Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Cat has suddenly started attacking dog.

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by Deleted member 1516454, Jan 13, 2021.

1. ...

#1 Deleted member 1516454, Jan 13, 2021
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2021 at 10:43 PM
  2. ...

#2 Deleted member 1516454, Jan 13, 2021
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2021 at 10:43 PM
  3. pennycat

pennycat PetForums Member

oh dear :( sounds stressful. I’m no expert but could it be a case of redirected aggression? Article mainly talks about happening between two cats but I presume it can happen between a dog and cat too.

https://iaabc.org/cat/redirected-aggression-in-cats

#3 pennycat, Jan 14, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2021
  4. Thanks for sharing the article. It does sound very similar to the what is happening.

5. pennycat

Do you remember anything happening when you got back from the walk with lucky that might have caused it? Loud noise or anything?

6. pennycat

7. Nope, nothing at all out of the ordinary. I’m hoping it’s the upper respiratory tract infection that made her act out of character and we will be done treating that by the weekend.

If anyone has any tips on how best to let them meet again that would be super helpful. Just remember that the last two occasions when it’s happened she actively attacks him as soon as she sees him. There is no moments of calm. It literally goes from zero to 100. The next time they meet which is in 4 days time they would have been apart for a week.

#7 Deleted member 1516454, Jan 14, 2021
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2021
  8. lorilu

lorilu PetForums VIP

You need to spay your cat. 8 years of endless heat cycles is likely behind this behavior. It's cruel. I can't imagine why your vet has not suggested this.

Lurcherlad and chillminx like this.
  9. Jackie C

Jackie C Cat slave