Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Can I go partially Raw - is that better than nothing?

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by GirlWithAChakram, May 8, 2017.

1. GirlWithAChakram

GirlWithAChakram PetForums Junior

I rescued two Ragdolls in Jan after loosing my regular cat due to a uriny infection. Because of that I am a bit paranoid about the dry feeding and done a bit of research and it seems dry feeding isnt very good for them.
    I guess what Im asking is - Is it just as simple as chopping up raw chicken breast / mince next time im using it and hiding some in their wet feed? If so the next step after that would be premade raw diets but does anyone know a company that delivers in Scotland?
    Sorry Im pretty new to this but want to do the best by my cats.

Attached Files:

2. stockwellcat.

stockwellcat. Banned

So you are considering raw feeding that's great news. I will try not to blow your mind to much.
    Personally I feed raw chunks and premix simply because my cat won't eat bones. The premix I use is EZComplete (Food Fur Life sell this) from the USA (suitable for cats at all life stages). There are two Premixes you can get from Germany called Felini Complete (Zooplus sell this) and TCFeline (Tatzenladen sell this). I mix EZComplete premix with raw chunks of meat and water. Adding a premix to boneless raw chunks of meat means you do not have to add anything else to this.

The other option you have is minced complete frozen commercial raw meals from Natural Instinct, Nutriment or Kiezebrink all in the UK and do home deliveries. You do not need to add anything to these as they are complete and contain ground up bone as well. Not all cats like minced raw food so don't be surprised if they don't eat it if you go for this method.