Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Can anyone advise please

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Sea, Mar 31, 2017.

1. Sea

Sea PetForums Newbie

Hello everyone.

I am a newbie and seeking advice....

I am wanting to clip my westie and as an old aged pensioner, I am finding the cost horendous. I am quite adapt at turning my hand to most things and thought I would give clipping a whirl. Can anyone suggest what reasonable price clippers to buy for a beginner. I do not want to spend a lot in case I am absolutely useless at it. If I can mange to do this (having watched a load of tutorials) I would then go on to buy a better pair.

I do not mind buying used ones, as long as the blades etc are okay. All suggestions welcome

Thank you

2. steveshanks

steveshanks PetForums VIP

Don't go buying them on my say as more knowledgeable people will be on here to advice you........BUT.........we just clipped our Yorkie with standard mens clippers, in fact i used to borrow them to shave my head LOL

Lurcherlad and Sea like this.
  3. Sea

Sea PetForums Newbie

Funny you should say this, I know lots of folk that use ordinary clippers. It is something I will consider, but if there is little price difference, then I might as well purchase proper ones...I also red to know what setting, I have read a FIVE is the best...I don't want to scalp the poor little chap, but righ now he is similar to a woollie sheep...lol x

4. SixStar

SixStar Banned

I have a set of Oster clippers that I've had for donkeys years and they're great. They weren't cheap but have gone the distance.

For a budget set, I would look at Wahl.

Sea likes this.
  5. Sea

Sea PetForums Newbie