Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Buying a 2yr old GCCF registered cat from private seller. Advice needed

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Ciri, Feb 17, 2020.

1. Ciri

Ciri PetForums Newbie

Hi,

I'm completely new to buying a pedigree cat having only had rescues in the past. I've found a gorgeous Birman online who's just under 2 years old that I would like to rehome. Seller is asking for £600 as she's GCCF registered and pedigree. This seems to be a going rate for a pedigree kitten but i have a few Qs:
    - what paperwork do I need to ask for
    - how do I know the cat the seller hands me is the cat the paperwork relates to (cat not microchipped)
    - is there transfer of ownership paperwork? What does this entail?
    - if I want to 'show' the cat in the future will there be any hindrance to me doing this?

Is there anything else I should be wary of? Most advice seems to relate to buying a kitten, what is different about buying a [young] adult cat?

2. OrientalSlave

OrientalSlave Shunra Oriental Cats

That's a heck of a price for a 2yo cat. I think I found that advert, registered active. And sold unneutered by the look of it.

Read the sticky thread about what the papers should look like.

spotty cats likes this.
  3. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP

@Ciri - I would be curious why a breeder is selling a 2 year old un-neutered GCCF registered pedigree female. Has the cat been bred and the breeder is now retiring her? If so why is the cat not being neutered before being re-homed?

Are you buying the cat to breed from her? If not, and you plan to have her spayed, then as Oriental Slave said, it's a lot of money to pay for a 2 yr old cat you are getting as a pet.

4. tyg'smum

tyg'smum PetForums Senior

I've never bought a pedigree cat, so can't advise on that, but the first thing that comes to mind is why they're selling an adult cat?

5. Ciri