Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Broody

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by lunarlikes, May 11, 2010.

1. lunarlikes

lunarlikes PetForums Junior

Unfortunately myself and my daughter have eczema and asthma. I have always wanted a dog and grew up with a rough collie and had no problems. We have been to see a few different breeds and so far we've not had any luck with our allergies :(

The only thing that we seem not to be allergic to is collies. now we havent been to see any because they are too high energy mentally to fit into our lifestyle.

Does anyone know of some that do have lower energy as in border collies or collie crosses?
    I know it sounds so daft but I have been researching different breeds for 4 years now and it is so frustrating. I would just love to have a dog in the homw. Not just for selfish reasons but to give to another being.

I would rehome from honily but they have not had any in that are what we are looking for. We have spoken to them about our situation and they are very understanding and have offered allergy tests to any we see we like.

I dont want it to end up an upsetting experience for my daughter though. Any ideas??

2. Bearpaw

Bearpaw PetForums VIP

Hi,have you looked into any of the poodle crosses(goldendoodle,colliedoodle etc) as i know alot of people with allergies/excema find these breeds are ok.
    I have mildish allergies but do find after a short time i build up immunities to my own dogs and unless i get scratched/bitten etc im fine really.I have labs myself but do have to be careful with other peoples' dogs.
    Good luck in your search,i hope you find what youre looking for :)

3. cutekiaro1

cutekiaro1 PetForums VIP

do you know what it is that you are allergic to is it the hair. If you can find out or if you know it would exclude a lot of breeds and possibly leave you with ones that will be ok?