Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

British Shorthairs

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by Umm Kulthum, Sep 30, 2018.

?

Breeding British Shorthair Cats

1. Cat Breeding

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Registries

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Umm Kulthum

Umm Kulthum PetForums Newbie

Hello everyone!
    This is my first time breeding my British Shorthairs (both are pedigree and registered) and I just wanted to know if there is anything I should know before breeding British Shorthairs (ie. what I need to be prepared for, litter size, complications etc.)
    Thanks

2. lymorelynn

lymorelynn UN Peacekeeper in training
    Staff Member

You should have a good mentor to help with any problems - hopefully the breeder who sold you an ACTIVE registered girl will be doing that for you.
    Do you have both a female and a male? It isn't usual to start out with both.
    You need to be aware of their blood types as mating certain types can cause problems with nursing kittens.

Tigermoon and SusieRainbow like this.
  3. QOTN

QOTN PetForums VIP

Your cats should be tested for PKD and, if any cats in their pedigrees come from Australia or New Zealand, ALPS as well.

4. Umm Kulthum

They are tested for PKD and their blood type. They came back negative for PKD and ALPS, and they are blood type A. I only have a female and the stud is my friend's who is also a registered kitty and tested negative for PKD, herpes, blood type etc.

5. Umm Kulthum

Just if anyone was wondering I have two females not male and female.

6. gskinner123

gskinner123 PetForums VIP