Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Bonding 3 rabbits

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by ailz, Mar 27, 2011.

1. ailz

ailz PetForums Newbie

I have been keeping rabbits since getting Tosh 6 years ago. He had a friend who died and we bought 2 baby girl rabbits in January 11. These turned out to be 2 boys, who we had neutered on 19 March 11. One boy Chaz is living with Tosh while Chaz's brother Shelley is in the same room but separated from them - he and Chaz were bonded but started fighting something wicked. Tosh is a Netherland Dwarf, but seems to be the boss of Chaz - but whenever he bosses Chaz, Chaz urinates on his face.

The boys go for their final check up at the vet tomorrow and I want to start the bonding process after that - any suggestions, gratefully accepted.

Thanks
    Ailz

2. hazyreality

hazyreality PetForums VIP

You will need a totally neutral room, somewhere that none of the rabbits have been to start with. It wont be as easy as they are 3 boys but it is possible :) It is also best to leave it 6 weeks since the op's for the hormones to settle, makes it much easier :)
    I personally put the new or single one(in your case Shelly) in the area for a couple of minutes then introduce the calmest first, so Tosh next before you try adding Chaz as they are the 2 that have fought before together.
    If you can get hold of a dog crate(about 3ft) then that would be a great place to put them to start with. If you keep them in a smaller space to start with then they wont be able to chase each other so much.
    Keep a spray bottle with you and a pair of gardening gloves incase you need to break up a fight, they can pack a nasty bite.
    If you can fit them all in a carrier of some sort and take them for a car ride, then its a very good way of settling them, but you will need someone to either drive or hold the spray bottle.