Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Betta Fish

Discussion in 'Fish Keeping Chat' started by MontyMaude, Mar 19, 2017.

1. MontyMaude

MontyMaude PetForums VIP

Does any one have Betta Fish, if so tell me about him/them, what size tank, plants real or fake, pictures most welcome.

2. mrs phas

mrs phas karma is a funny old thing

@ellenlouisepascoe , @kitteh

they should help when they get alerted

due to ellenlouisepascoe, im setting a sorority tank up in the near future

ellenlouisepascoe and MontyMaude like this.
  3. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

Hi, I am not an expert on Betta but hopefully the people mentioned above and perhaps @NaomiM can help.

However before you get your fish read up on fishless cycling and the nitrogen cycle. You will need to build up a healthy population of filter bacteria before you add your fish. This takes 4-6 weeks. There are instructions on the web but please say if you need help with this.

Please ignore any comments by pet shops that you just add water and leave it for a few days before adding fish. This information is outdated, incorrect and will harm the fish.

You will need a tank, filter, water conditioner, heater, thermometer and a water test kit ( the api liquid test kit is best).

magpie, NaomiM and LinznMilly like this.
  4. MontyMaude

MontyMaude PetForums VIP

I have pond fish so have done the full filter set up thingy outside and I have been reading about cycling the tank, I have a water test kit for the pond which I presume (will have a read up) will work for a tank too, to check ph, nitrate and nitrite levels, but I'm torn because I have seen a lovely tank but they seem to style over substance but I don't know, my head is fuzzy from watching many videos and reading lots.

kittih likes this.
  5. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP