Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Basset Hound with issues needs rehoming by experienced owner

Discussion in 'Dog Rescue and Adoption' started by costelloe, Mar 6, 2011.

1. costelloe

costelloe PetForums Newbie

Hello,

I've been placed in a situation where I decided to rehome a Basset, but the owners lied and under exhaggerated the dogs problems. They said he can be moody, which can summarise any Basset, whereas I'd describe him as aggressive.

We've been told by the vets we should put him down, but I can't bear to do that as 98% he is one of the most loving, placid, gentle dogs I've ever met. Unfortunately the other 2% is an aggressive dog, and I'm not experienced enough to know how to cope with this.

He's a 3 year old Basset, his name is Bentley and I'd say he's quite small for a Basset.

I don't want to put him down, and I'd love to find someone who can help, and I'll discuss everything with them. My ideal checklist would be someone with a few dogs as he responds well to being in a pack, I'd prefer them to not have children especially until he's able to control his aggression.

I've attached a photo, he's infront with the noticeable eyes.

If you're interested or know someone who is, please let me know. You can also email me at costelloe@me.com

[​IMG]

2. jamie1977

jamie1977 Banned

Hope he finds someone able to take him on.

He does have an evil stare :lol:

Fingers crossed for him :thumbup:

3. Sled dog hotel

Sled dog hotel PetForums VIP

The best people to contact is Basset Hound Breed rescue. These people know the breed, and have the experience to work with him and then find him the most suitable home. 01257 451553 is the main number, but on the website is listed all the national co ordinators in all the various areas.
    Welcome to Basset Hound Welfare

4. FriendsOfTheAnimalsRCT

FriendsOfTheAnimalsRCT PetForums Senior