Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

baby pigeon rescued

Discussion in 'Wildlife Chat' started by lil muppet, Jul 1, 2010.

1. lil muppet

lil muppet PetForums VIP

i have just found a town pidgion in town. its still at the squab stage and had been there 2 days but had not been fed at all and was really lifeless. i have mangaged to get some runny egg food into it via sringe and its looking alot perkier but does not like the idea of being force fed! i used to work at a wildlife rescue place so im not a compleate novice to this. if it still does not like the iea of being fed by tommorow i will be taking it to my local wildlife rescue place so they can look after it. i just could not leave it there to die or get kicked to death by some idiot child.

2. rona

rona Guest

I raised a wood pigeon when I was a child, once they start eating it's not normally a problem.
    Hope you succeed

3. MerlinsMum

MerlinsMum PetForums VIP

You do have to kind of force feed pigeons unfortunately, but they get used to it. I hand reared one years ago, then helped my neighbour raise a young collared dove last year. We used egg food and when it was older, mixed in fine canary seed and a little fine grit.

Once it was feeding itself and had full plumage it went out into his aviary with his budgies (It had grown up with his pet budgies indoors) and a few weeks later decided to bid for freedom, flew out of the door when he opened it.

I'm sure you already know of this rescource, but for others who don't know about it:
    Hand-rearing of Orphaned Wildlife (with special reference to UK Wildlife)

I'm currently feeding an abandoned chaffinch fledgling which was brought into my friend's work (he's a vet nurse) and have found this site of great value once again.... I discovered it last year when looking for data about collared doves.

ETA: this is the page you want: