Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Baby Gecko handling

Discussion in 'Lizards' started by James Popadiuk, May 7, 2020.

1. James Popadiuk

James Popadiuk PetForums Newbie

Hi I've got a 12 week old leopard gecko and when I try to handle her she lifts her tail and sort of bends her back. So instead of handling I usually just put my hand in her viv. Is there anything else I can do to tame her better?

2. Calvine

Calvine PetForums VIP

Welcome to the forum, James; sure someone with some experience will be along shortly.

3. Sobas

Sobas PetForums Newbie

Hi! I got a baby gecko back in february. I am no expert but I've had a lot of experience with baby lizards and taming them before. First things first, don't expect your gecko to like you immediately because it will take a few weeks before they adjust to your smell, the feel of your hands etc. Secondly, you can expect your gecko to try to run away from you.This is something that they will always do unless you prove them you are no danger, so, I personally picked up my gecko anyway so that they know any aggression they do make is ineffective against you (you must show that you are not scared because just like dogs they will pick up on this) and when you are handling her make sure you give her freedom to crawl around your hands and body (my geckos favourite place is in my hair now) so she can get used to all the different smells. Make sure when you are handling her it is later in the day. Geckos are crepuscular meaning they are most active during sunset hours. If you awake them during the middle of the day when they try to sleep, this will only stress them out. Try to make them more comfortable with food, just like with dogs you are almost rewarding them with a treat for good behaviour and if they know they are receiving food from you they will be less threatened. Remember to handle her every day for short per