Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Baby canaries dying

Discussion in 'Bird Breeding' started by TedVayro, Jun 29, 2009.

1. TedVayro

TedVayro PetForums Newbie

I've been raising canaries for 25-30 years and am having trouble in the past few years. My canary eggs hatch and within a few days the babies start dying. One dies then another dies and sometimes they live until they are almost feathered out and then die. I feed them commercial canary mix, fresh water daily, dandelions and/or greens and fresh made daily egg food. Does anyone know anything about this or had a similar experience? Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks.

2. toddy

toddy PetForums Senior

Funny you should say this as we have had a very high mortality rate with our canaries this year same sort of thing.
    We have had 3 live babies this year out of numerous eggs.Live babies that have made it Imean.Lots make it out of the nest but then die or die just as they get feathered.
    Not sure of the reason but would be interesting to hear others opinions.
    It is not like we do not know what we are doing either as have bred many healthy canaries.

3. pria

pria PetForums Newbie

Ted I replied to you on the other thread.:)

Possibles - Red mites - Sky high numbers in the past couple of years.
    Vitamin D deficiency

Have a look on Google for Diseases of Canaries By Robert Stroud. Its an online book and has some good advice/information.
    Page 47/48 list the signs and symptoms of VIT D deficiency

#3 pria, Jul 6, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  4. Rainbowlover

Rainbowlover PetForums Newbie

how old are the parents?
    maybe they are past their healthy breeding age, if there is such a thing. plus it has been far warmer these last few years dehydration leading to crop sead rot and toxin production. dont know just putting some ideas in the mix.

5. thegoldfincher