Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Aquarium light

Discussion in 'Fish Keeping Chat' started by Fishnewbie, Jun 30, 2019.

1. Fishnewbie

Fishnewbie PetForums Member

hi all,

Recently my neon light has broken and have tried everything to fix with no success.

I have brought a temporary led light from amazon, the light from this is obviously much much less meaning the tank is darker by some way than before.

Will this cause any issues for my fish or plant life?

Any information would be great.

Cheers :)

2. Fishnewbie

Anyone ?

3. danielled

danielled Guest

Are you sure the bulb didn’t just need replacing.

4. Fishnewbie

Tried the Bulb :( and the starter motor and a new fuse in the plug!:(, can’t seem to fix it. Are you aware if low lit aquariums will impact the fish / plant life?

5. magpie

magpie PetForums VIP

The fish won't be affected. I'm not very good with plants, but logically I'd guess that they could be affected, depending on the species and whether they need a lot of light or not. Some plants prefer low light.

6. Fishnewbie

Thanks Magpie! The Fish are my main concern anyway! This light can do for now then until I have enough money to get a new Lid....

7. LilRich

LilRich PetForums Junior

The fish won't be affected the plants may very well be.

If you see plant die off (browning leaves and stems) remove the affected plants. That die off can cause a ammonia spike and can wipe your tank out.

Fishnewbie likes this.
  8. Fishnewbie

Thanks LilRich, il keep an eye on the plants, they seem to be ok at the moment but will monitor closely

9. LilRich

LilRich PetForums Junior

If you do see some die off which happened quick if you have a ammonia test kit handy it wouldn't hurt to check.

Better safe than sorry

Fishnewbie likes this.
  10. danielled

danielled Guest