Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Anyone heard of this raw brand?

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by LittleEms, Jan 29, 2021.

1. LittleEms

LittleEms PetForums Senior

I know there are a few raw food brands that I have seen recommended here before such as purrform, but has anyone heard of Hug?

https://www.hugpetfood.co.uk/
    I got a 25% off voucher in a magazine that was gifted to me and it looks quite nice, though I still really a food newbie and know nothing about raw!

I am hoping to one day feed some raw to the kittens in the hopes it helps their sensitive tummies and any discount helps haha!

#1 LittleEms, Jan 29, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2021
  2. Tigermoon

Tigermoon PetForums VIP

I have to say I've never heard of them and I've been feeding raw for a few years now. They say they've been around for several years on their website but I couldn't actually find when they started, and I'm pretty sure they'd have come up in the many, many searches I did for raw food over the years. That said their ingredients look ok, except I personally am not really happy that there is no bone content and they also add some herbs and seeds to their food.
    Pricewise it is marginally more expensive than Luna & Me (which is what I feed) and hugely more expensive than companies such as Kiezebrink etc, although the meat is probably better quality.

3. LittleEms

What do the bones add to it nutrition wise? (I am a total food newbie!)

I was also looking at Luna and Me, though I do like that the Hug can be cooked. Price isn’t an issue at the moment as I wasn’t planning to solely raw feed unless I can’t find a good commercial food that suits them. I assume it is okay to rotate between raw and commercial for different meals anyway?

4. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP

#4 chillminx, Jan 29, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2021
  5. Tigermoon