Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Anyone had experiences with sick kittens?

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by SandyK, Jul 30, 2020.

1. SandyK

SandyK PetForums Newbie

Hi I'm new to pet forums and I'm hoping someone can help me. I recently adopted a very young kitten who lost his mum, he was 2-3 weeks old when we got him. Everything was great with little Samuel Spratt (Sammy) until a few days ago when he was 7 weeks old, he started vomiting and despite a checkup and antibiotics from the vet, this continued until he was eventually rushed back to the vet very weak and dehydrated the next morning. He was given IV fluids and some glucose but remains hypothermic and extremely lethargic.

The vet still doesn't exactly know what's wrong with him, but thinks it was/is some kind of bowel obstruction, the cause of which remains a mystery - he could have eaten something; he could have had an accidental injury; he could have a congenital problem. He wants to keep him for a few more days to keep him stable and try to get his temperature up. He is no longer vomiting, is eating a little, and did a little poop this morning. The vet is being very guarded about the situation- and also I'm based in France so the language barrier is a problem with my French being tres basique.