Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Any tips???

Discussion in 'Horse Riding and Training' started by Pindonkey, Dec 15, 2012.

1. Pindonkey

Pindonkey PetForums Member

I've been riding for about 3 months now and i am really enjoying it but i was looking for some tips.

How can i keep the ball of my foot on the stirrup??? It often slips so that its down in the middle of my foot. I try to keep my heels down but it still slips.

I also have trouble with the canter, particularly getting to horse to do it because i find it hard to kick while trotting. Anything i could try?

I know it takes practice and a lot of it.

2. lymorelynn

lymorelynn UN Peacekeeper in training
    Staff Member

I think that's your answer :) 3 months isn't long. When you go into canter from trot sit down for a couple of strides before asking your horse to canter. Keeping your heels down is the answer to keeping the stirrup in the right place - again it's all down to practice in having your balance right. Keep up the riding and it will all come together :)

3. Blitz

Blitz PetForums VIP

I take it you are having lessons. You should not really be riding without an experienced person watching you after only 3 months riding.

The girls that ride my ponies decided they liked the 'cheese grater' stirrups as they were having trouble keeping their feet correctly in the stirrups. It has certainly helped them though one of them has progressed far beyond needing their help.