Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Anxious about leaving my 1 year old cat while away

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by Tova Widerberg, Nov 19, 2018.

1. Tova Widerberg

Tova Widerberg PetForums Newbie

Hello!
    I'm brand new to this site, just joined because I need some opinions, help or suggestions- anything!

I've a 1 year old boy cat named Max. He's very social and he's quite a Mommy's boy and wants to be around me at all times (bathroom, even!). He's not necessarily shy and gets along with most humans he's met so far.
    So, here comes my problem.
    Max is used to me being at home most of the time as I am studying online, and he's only spent two night away from me and my boyfriend since we got him.
    In January, however, me and my boyfriend are going to sweden to visit my family for 6 days and I'm worried sick about Max already. We used a pet sitter when we went to glasgow for a night and although Max was fine I wasn't completely satisfied with the sitter as she didn't keep us updated even though she promised and it was the first time we left him alone, even though she did everything we asked for I couldn't enjoy my weekend since I didn't have a clue if he was fine or not.

So- should I just find a new pet sitter and go through as many as needed until I find one that I trust and Max connects with or should I let him stay at a cat boarding place?
    I know it's less stressful for cats being in their own home but I am so worried about leaving him alone for this long.
    There are no family members or friends of my boyfriends we can ask either unfortunately.

What would you do? What do you think I should do?

2. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

Hi and welcome. It's hard to answer your question as it really depends on Max and on you.