UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
last year when blitzen was only a tiny baby i used to let him sleep next to my pillow on my bed as he was very small and i have no heating upstairs and it was freezing cold so i was worried about him
when he was bigger i got him used to sleeping on the floor cos to be honest he is a big dog and even tho if he gets on the bedand he sleeps in the same place i do not sleep well with him there. i am not good with sharing my bed lol
anyway the last couple of weeks he is reluctant to go on the floor when the light goes off and he watches me before i go to sleep, i can see him in the dark lol, also if i have to get out in the night to go to the loo i find him in my warm spot when i get back to my bedroom, this is something hes never done before.
do dogs feel the cold and do you think he is genuinely cold or is he pulling a fast one
i am starting to feel guilty :(

·
Banned
19,820 Posts
I think dogs just have a knack of stealing the warm spot! :D

My house is not cold, but you can bet if you leave your seat, either Dixie or Dave will be on it before you even left the room :lol:

I think just that he was use to sleeping on your bed as a baby that is why he wants to sleep up there.

I have always let the dogs on the bed if I have them in the room at night (unless Dave gets to warm and sleeps on the floor) and Dixie gets under the covers until she gets to warm. Chase will be the same when he gets older although I do take him on the bed with me if I happen to sneak in a nap hehe.

·
Registered
4,436 Posts
Not sure what breed he is, but check his ears and his paws. If they are cold, or it's 3am, then he probably is cold. Can you give him a bed with sides or a crate?

·
Registered
490 Posts