Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

All about Hamsters!

Discussion in 'Small Animal Chat' started by Engel98, Nov 2, 2019.

?

What type of hamster do you have?

1. Syrian

19 vote(s)
    82.6%
  2. Chinese

1 vote(s)
    4.3%
  3. Campbell's

1 vote(s)
    4.3%
  4. Winter White

1 vote(s)
    4.3%
  5. Roborovski

3 vote(s)
    13.0%
  6. Hybrid

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Engel98

Engel98 PetForums Senior

I have seen a lot of threads asking questions regarding hamsters whether it'd be taming, behaviour or cages so I thought I'd make a thread which the mods can add as a sticky so anyone can come and hopefully find the information they are after. Now, by all means I am not an expert. I am still learning about my hamster and probably will continue to.

This will probably be a long post in many sections so please bare with me. If anyone has any extra information then feel free to add it in the comments below!

Introduction

Hamsters are small rodents that typically live 2-4 years. They are often a child's first pet even though they have complex needs. They are typically active during dawn and dusk and eat a mixture of seeds, fruits, vegetation and insects. In the wild hamsters live in warm, dry areas with relatively little vegetation on the edge of deserts so try and replicate their habitat in their cage.

Types

There are many species of hamster but only 5 types are kept as pets. They include:
    -Syrian hamster
    -Chinese hamster
    -Campbell's dwarf hamster
    -Winter white dwarf hamster
    -Roborovski hamster

Syrian Hamster

These are the biggest hamster commonly kept as pets. They are approximately 5-7 inches long and because of this they are easier to handle and tame. They come in many different colours although the most common colour is golden with white tummy.