Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

After some advice about dog sitting

Discussion in 'Dog Services' started by chrissie-h, May 21, 2010.

1. chrissie-h

chrissie-h PetForums Junior

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice.
    I've had dogs all my life - until a year ago I shared a pack of 7 Siberian Huskies with my (now ex) boyfriend (long story and lots of heartbreak - I still see them though and they are all well and happy with him:))

Anyway, I was looking after the sibes full time for 5 years, raised them from pups, etc. I learned a lot about multiple dog management, feeding raw diets, and general dog care. I've also owned and looked after malamutes and border collies in the past, and as such have a lot of experience with lively, boisterous 'challenging' dogs!

For now I am living in a city as I am studying for a PhD and as much as I would love my own dog I feel it is not the right time at the moment.
    I am very flexible in where I work (most of my work is reading annd writing) and can travel as long as I can get an internet connection.....

So, Im thinking that maybe I could earn a bit of cash and also get to spend time with lots of lovely dogs by doing some dog/house sitting.

I know when I had sibes I didn't trust anyone else who didn't have experince in sled dogs to look after them. Unfortunately, most people who did have the know-how also had their own dogs to look after and were tied down.

I figure I could be quite useful and maybe give people a chance to get a hoiliday that they might not otherwise be able to take....

Anyway, the point of all this is.... where do I start?! lol Is it best to join up with an agency, or should I work freelance? What level of insurance would I need? Are contracts necessary?

Any advice would be very much appreciated...

Thanks in advance,

Chrissie x

2. rona

rona Guest