Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

Advice on clients dictating walks

Discussion in 'Dog Walking' started by DawgCrazy!, Dec 18, 2017.

1. DawgCrazy!

DawgCrazy! PetForums Newbie

Hi all,

I’m new to dog walking and one of my clients requires an evening walk in the dark and I’m happy to provide a lead walk however one of the dogs is reactive and lunges at cars so the owner wants me to drive to a local field for the walk but I don’t feel comfortable walking around on the field at the same time every week in my own in the dark .

Is it normal for clients to dictate walks?

Also they have given me very detailed instructions on dealing with the lunging but I am not a trainer so is it ok to say sorry no that’s a bit much to ask ? Obviously routine manners like waiting to cross the road etc I am ok with but I feel this is a bit above my advertised service as a dog walker?

Tia

2. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

I am not a dog walker but would expect any professional to carry out a (informal) risk assessment of where they were going to walk a clients dog. The hazards to identify would relate to your clients dog, the general public and yourself. If you feel your own safety could be compromised and the risk of walking in the place the client stipulates is too great for you then it is perfectly acceptable to tell the client ghat you do not provide walks in the dark in isolated areas and if this is what they require then you will be unable provide the service required.

Personally I also would be unhappy with this request. If you can locate a lit or safe secure field for hire in the locality then you could suggest to the client that you are prepared to take their dog there (for appropriate reimbursement of hired field cost etc).